First an Update

The deadline for completing the walks was June 14th because Davan and I left on June 15th for a trip to California for both fun and some family visiting.  We were extra speedy and finished on the 13th.  We had, again, a great time doing the walks.  In fact, I think it was even more fun this time around.  Maybe that was because the walks were shorter on average (although more intense with lots and lots of elevation change), maybe it was because Davan was a year older and more mature, or maybe it was because a lot of the walks spent time on trails.  I’m not sure, but we sure had a blast.

I’m planning to post more about our trip, but, for now, I’ll just say it was fun, but a whole lot of driving and we had to cut it short a bit due to Ranger issues.  On the plus side, that gave Davan more time to get ready for her trip to D.C.  She’s flying out for the pre-departure orientation (PDO) as I type.  In addition to her blog, she also now has a You Tube channel of her own.  If you’re interested in checking it out, you can do so here.

She’s been both super excited and a bit stressed about this trip.  However, also attending the PDO, although for Turkey, not Oman, is her friend, Amelia.  Once Davan saw Amelia at the airport, she couldn’t say goodbye fast enough.  That’s okay.  She’ll be home in a week and I’m very glad she’s excited.

While Davan is gone, I have goals.  Our reading challenge is still underway and I have not been keeping up my end as well as Davan has.  She had a lot more reading time prior to us leaving for California due to being pretty much off the week before we left.  All she really needed to do was the walks, whereas I was working as well as fitting in the walks.  Anyway, this is my week to catch up and even get ahead in the reading count.  We’ve got a combined book total goal, so it doesn’t really mater who reads more, but I want to do my part.  Also, she’ll barely read at all this week except maybe on the plane ride home, as she won’t be flying with Amelia.  While it won’t count toward my book total, I do also want to catch up on some of my blog reading.  I haven’t read anybody’s in weeks!

I also want to get all the walks blogged.  I’ve just realized that this will be a little challenging, as I’ve returned the walk book to the library and I know I won’t remember the official names or distances.  I shall not let that stop me, however.  I just went and put a hold on the book, so hopefully I’ll get it soon.  Meanwhile, I’ll just do the posts as best I can.

Additionally, I need to get back on my bike.  Between the walks and the trip to California, it’s been weeks.  I’m signed up for a century ride at the end of summer, so I really need to keep on it.    Also in the physical realm, I’d like to get in the pool.  I’m considering doing a sprint triathlon toward the end of summer, as well, to dip back into that sport.  My running is going okay as far as the ankle goes, so a sprint should be okay for that.  That’s about a half a mile swim, a 20K bike ride and a 5K run.

We’ve also been spending like crazy with the travel and with booking things for Lena’s upcoming visit (Lena, you have to wait to hear details from Davan!), so it’s also a goal for me to be economical this week – no eating out and inexpensive activities.

So, there it is.  The next post will be a walk post.  When I’m done with them, I’ll move on to the California trip.

One thought on “First an Update

Leave a comment